Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Mayor’s Court


Mayor’s Court Info Brochure

Mayor’s Court • 101 S. Main St. • New Carlisle, Ohio 45344

2022 COURT SCHEDULE

Court begins at 6:00pm on the following Wednesdays:

January 19th
February 2nd
February 16th
March 2nd
March 6th
March 30th
April 13th
April 27th
May 11th
May 25th
June 8th
June 22nd
July 6th

July 20th
August 3rd
August 17th
August 31st
September 14th
September 28th
October 12th
October 26th
November 9th
November 23rd
December 7th
December 21st

QUESTIONS? Contact the Clerk of Court at 937-207-6180

PROPER DRESS REQUIRED — When entering a courtroom, an appropriate dress code will be observed by all participants, including defendants, witnesses, and spectators.

The following is NOT appropriate dress:
Hats, Tank Tops, Halter Tops, Mesh Shirts, Shirts or Pants with offensive logos, writing, or pictures, Sagging Pants that reveal undergarments

Courtroom Tips

  • Children are not permitted in the courtroom
  • Cell phones must be turned off
  • No firearms are permitted in the building
  • Metal detectors will be used before entering 

Fees and Payments

OHIO’S FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LAW — If you have failed to submit proof of financial responsibility to a law enforcement officer, you need to submit proof of financial responsibility to the Clerk of Court. You can email proof of insurance to kthome@newcarlisle.net or text to 937-207-6180. If you fail to provide proof of insurance you will receive a letter from the BMV at the address on your driver’s license.

Forms of Payment

Pay Online or pay by certified check, money order, cash or check. Credit cards payments made at the window include a 3.5% service charge.

Please make checks/money orders payable to:
New Carlisle Mayor’s Court
101 S. Main Street
New Carlisle, Ohio 45344

Night deposit box for non-cash payments in front of building.

Fine Schedule for payable violations listed below. PAYMENT IS DUE PRIOR TO ASSIGNED COURT DATE OR YOUR APPEARANCE IS REQUIRED IN COURT.

Speed 1-10 Over.............$228
Speed 11-15 Over............$233
Speed 16-20 Over............$243
Speed 21-25 Over............$253
Speed 26-30 Over.....Must Appear
Speed 31 Over...............$268
Expired Tags................$208
Traffic Control Devices.....$148
Reckless Operation..........$268
Suspended License....Must Appear
Seatbelt - Driver...........$138
Seatbelt - Passenger........$128
Child Restraints............$183
Stop for School Bus..Must Appear
Littering from Vehicle......$183
OVI..................Must Appear
Exterior Property...........$133
Unsafe Structures...........$208
Vegetation..................$133

If you did not show proof of insurance to the law enforcement officer at the time of your offense. YOU MUST ENCLOSE PROOF OF INSURANCE WITH YOUR PAYMENT. Failure to provide proof of insurance will result in the suspension of your driving rights for a period of not less than 90 days.

WAIVER: Must be received by your court date. Please sign the back of your citation and mail or bring it in with you.
*Waiver fee is double if moving violation occurred within the past 12 months*

PLEA TYPES AND CONSEQUENCES:

A. GUILTY – In this case you admit to the violation as charged. After this, the Magistrate usually inquires into circumstances, gives you an opportunity to make a statement or ask questions, and then pronounces sentence.

B. NOT GUILTY – This claims that you did not violate the law as charged or that there is something incorrect about the charge. The Magistrate then sets a date for trial. First the complaining witness presents his evidence. You have the right to cross- examine any witness who testifies against you.

After presentation of all the evidence against you, and also any cross – examination, you may ask the Magistrate to dismiss the case if you think the charge has not been proved beyond reasonable doubt. If the case is not dismissed, you may then present your case. You may use the Court facilities to require any witness to be present on your behalf. You may, but cannot be forced to give testimony yourself. If you do, you may be cross – examined. At the close of the arguments, a finding or sentence is made. If you are found guilty, implications and remaining procedures are the same as in the case of a guilty plea.

C. NO CONTEST – In this case you make no admission to guilt but also no claim of innocence. You may make a statement, but may not present any evidence. If you are found guilty, no legal inference may be drawn from that finding in any subsequent action based on the same incident (such as a civil suit asking payment for damages). With this exception, the implication and remaining procedures are the same as in the case of a guilty plea.